Friday, July 16, 2010

London: day 2

UPDATE! Yay! Time to jump to the past!


July 8


Hey, ho! New blog time! Ok, so. Breakfast. Delish. Cereal with toast (with a few things on top). 


Doesn’t that look delicious? That’s because it was. Toast, ham, procutto, cheese, and honey. Yum. So, after that, we went on a tour of the London Tower. Our tour guide was uuber cool too. I have a pic of her, however, she made us swear, with God as out witness, that we would not post pics of her anywhere on the net, lest we give her permission to find us and give us a stare that would turn us to stone. Not gonna take that risk.


So! The London Tower!  That would be the exterior of the fort. And before I get too ahead of myself, the London Bridge?


Yeah…that ain’t it…sad but true. It’s the lift bridge. London Bridge is a rather plain and boring bridge positioned in the opposite direction the camera is pointing… something of a letdown, if I must say so myself. Any way, back to the tower.


Incredibly white. Didn’t see the interior, though. Didn’t really have any time for it. The crown jewels were on display elsewhere in the fort and I spent all my time looking at those. And again, no photography was allowed in there. 


Yes, there was one of these fellows posted outside the door. There was a quaint little village surrounding the tower as well, with another of these guards posted about.


There it is, and there he is. Lower left. After the tower came Buckingham Palace. Quite the place, though I only saw it from a distance. We were really only there for the changing of the guard and the parade that followed. Apparently, the queen only visits Buckingham once a week for political matters. Otherwise, she’s at Windsor.  


After the palace, we went prancing about London and ended up at the Natural Museum (no pics) and the marvelous square in front of it. I got marvelous shots of the museum’s surroundings, but I failed to remember to take some of the actual museum… I feel slightly ashamed… 


We then ate dinner in the Crypt. We were, quite literally, eating above dead people. The Crypt was located under one of the local churches and the floor was covered with marker stones where each person was buried. Quite interesting, really. And the food was really good too. 


Yes. I do like taking pictures of food. It’s my thing… great lighting though. Looks really good. Oh! Almost forgot to mention. During out prancing about, I took some lovely floral pictures in another park as well. 


Mmm. So pretty. Well, that’s all for today! Cherio chaps!

No comments:

Post a Comment